Piece of Cake

Readers, if my blog leaves you with any residual kernel of  wisdom, or warm fuzzy feelings, I  want it to be this:

The greatest treasures and blessings in life are the people who come into your life for good, and the memories you make with them. We are never promised any number of birthdays. And there is nothing else in this world that you take with you when you die but this.

My momma said this to us all the time growing up, in not so many words, but it was one of the very few things I’ve never questioned her on or sassed her about. Because it is the absolute truth.

I honestly don’t know what I did to receive the treasures and blessings I have. My amazing husband is probably the biggest one. Because most all of my other greatest treasures and blessings have stemmed from the two of us being together (namely our beautiful children). Every day, my husband works hard to make sure that I have everything I ever dreamed of in this life, and to help his friends and family out whenever they are in need. No he isn’t perfect by any means, and he annoys the hell out of me some times, but above all he is so selfless and giving. He is the perfect man for me. So, I’m always thinking that no matter what I say or do, it will never be enough to thank him for the ways he blesses me continually, or to thank God for blessing me with him.

It’s especially hard this time of year, because this month is his birthday, and then comes our anniversary, and then comes Christmas…and he never asks for anything.  He usually says not to worry about getting him anything. But I’m not going to just NOT give my husband a gift on his birthday.  He is my best friend and the love of my life! I want to make him happy.  And I know he is not a materialistic person. I know he likes computer-related and techy-things, but I am not that savvy to know which is the good techy-thing and which is crappy, or if he already has it.  So, it is just super hard to know what to get for him sometimes.

One other thing I do know I can’t go wrong with is that he loves lemon flavored things: Lemonade, lemon gelato, lemon cake, lemon meringue pie, and especially lemon-flavored candy… which is good, because I’m really not a fan (which means he gets all of my lemon skittles and starbursts. Win-win). I’m always looking for new ways i can indulge his lemon affinity. So, it was perfect timing the other day when a mutual friend of ours posted a video on his Faces-Book page of this Lemon Dream Cake from The Country Cook, asking his girlfriend to make it for him. It looked so good! I knew in an instant that it was what I was going to make my Hubbs for his birthday this year… Because it actually looked like something I would want to eat, even if it was lemon! Turns out it was super easy to make, too. I did however tweak the recipe a bit, and tried to employ the kids to help me and keep it a secret. Of course Sprout gets so excited, she can’t keep a secret, so she spilled the beans to daddy about his special cake almost the second he walked in the door. But that’s OK, because it turned out amazing! And hopefully it was a small treasure to him on his birthday for all the blessings he has given me.

Treasured Lemon Dream Cake

1 box French Vanilla with pudding cake mix

1 cup water

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 eggs

1 can lemon cream pie filling

8 dozen drops of love

20160918_175152-1

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix all ingredients except pie filling according to package directions. Pour batter into greased 13 x 9 baking pan. Drop spoonfuls of lemon pie filling into batter. Drag a knife through batter to marble lemon pie filling. Bake for 35-40 mins. Let cool before frosting.

20160918_183325-1

Look at how moist and fluffy this comes out! You almost don’t even need to frost it….But where would the fun be in that?

Dreamy Lemon Frosting

1 tub creamy lemon frosting

1 tub whipped cream topping

1 tsp vanilla

6 heaping TBSP of love

20160918_201533-1

Fold ingredients together until well blended. Spread evenly over cooled cake. Chill in fridge for 10-20 minutes. Then slice and serve.

Happy birthday, dear husband!

And as always, readers… enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

